Windsurf - Start Windsurfing (Level 1)

If you haven't windsurfed you haven't lived! This course teaches the basics of windsurfing. You will learn how to get into the sailing position, steer the board, turn around and return to shore.
19 November
Sat 19 Nov 2022 - Sun 20 Nov 2022
2 days, 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
Sydney, Australia
  • $495.00 incl. GST
10 December
Sat 10 Dec 2022 - Sun 11 Dec 2022
2 days, 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
Sydney, Australia
  • $495.00 incl. GST
2 January
Mon 02 Jan 2023 - Tue 03 Jan 2023
2 days, 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
Sydney, Australia
  • $495.00 incl. GST
23 January
Mon 23 Jan 2023 - Tue 24 Jan 2023
2 days, 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
Sydney, Australia
  • $495.00 incl. GST
    28 January
    Sat 28 Jan 2023 - Sun 29 Jan 2023
    2 days, 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
    Sydney, Australia
    • $495.00 incl. GST
    4 March
    Sat 04 Mar 2023 - Sun 05 Mar 2023
    2 days, 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
    Sydney, Australia
    • $495.00 incl. GST
    25 March
    Sat 25 Mar 2023 - Sun 26 Mar 2023
    2 days, 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
    Sydney, Australia
    • $495.00 incl. GST
    17 April
    Mon 17 Apr 2023 - Tue 18 Apr 2023
    2 days, 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
    Sydney, Australia
    • $495.00 incl. GST

To book a private course Enquire here

Description

You will be surprised how quickly you will learn to windsurf up and down on your own.

But don't be alarmed if you spend some time swimming at the start. By the end of the course, you will be well on your way to becoming a Flying Fish!

Warning, when you first experience 'The Feeling' on a windsurfer you may very well be hooked for life!

Course content

Day 1

  • Intro to the board and rigging
  • launching and landing, balance exercises (board only)
  • Secure position, Sailing position, 180-degree turn, Steering.
  • Sailing across the wind

Day 2

  • Sailing upwind, tacking and the 'No go Zone'
  • Sailing downwind and gybing
  • Self-rescue 

Fantastic sailing conditions

Flying Fish Sail Academy is based in a spectacular setting at Middle Harbour Yacht Club.

The sailing environment is superb with reliable, warm sea breezes and lots of great beaches nearby to learn from.   

Instructors and equipment 

Our Tahe WindSUP boards are quick and easy to rig and ideal for learning. 

Our RYA-qualified instructors will guide you through the course in a friendly and supportive way. 

Private course - less money, more fun

Get your own small group of family and friends together.

Bring 5 or more participants and we will arrange a course at a date that suits you and give you a 20% order discount. 

Enquire using the private course enquiry button at the top of the page.  

What's included

  • Tuition, equipment, pre-course information. safety boat. 
  • Perosnal Flotation Devices (PFD's) are provided and must be worn at all times on the water. 
  • Please bring your own water bottle and snacks.

Qualifications 

  • RYA Level 1

Before you start

  • The course is suitable for beginners.

What next?

  • Go on to our level 2 course or join our morning classes to improve your skills.
  • Once you are at level 2 you can come and hire a windsurfer and get out there on your own terms