Start Yachting Weekend

Book a Start Yachting Weekend for a structured learn to sail course. Add two live-aboard Competent Crew Weekends for a comprehensive introduction to yachting, leading to the RYA Competent Crew certificate.
1 October
Sat 01 Oct 2022 - Sun 02 Oct 2022
2 days, 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
Sydney, Australia
  • $695.00 incl. GST
Register4 places remaining
15 October
Sat 15 Oct 2022 - Sun 16 Oct 2022
2 days, 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
Sydney, Australia
  • $695.00 incl. GST
29 October
Sat 29 Oct 2022 - Sun 30 Oct 2022
2 days, 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
Sydney, Australia
  • $695.00 incl. GST
Register4 places remaining
12 November
Sat 12 Nov 2022 - Sun 13 Nov 2022
2 days, 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
Sydney, Australia
  • $695.00 incl. GST
    26 November
    Sat 26 Nov 2022 - Sun 27 Nov 2022
    2 days, 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
    Sydney, Australia
    • $695.00 incl. GST
    10 December
    Sat 10 Dec 2022 - Sun 11 Dec 2022
    2 days, 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
    Sydney, Australia
    • $695.00 incl. GST
    7 January
    Sat 07 Jan 2023 - Sun 08 Jan 2023
    2 days, 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
    Sydney, Australia
    • $695.00 incl. GST
    21 January
    Sat 21 Jan 2023 - Sun 22 Jan 2023
    2 days, 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
    Sydney, Australia
    • $695.00 incl. GST
    11 February
    Sat 11 Feb 2023 - Sun 12 Feb 2023
    2 days, 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
    Sydney, Australia
    • $695.00 incl. GST
    25 February
    Sat 25 Feb 2023 - Sun 26 Feb 2023
    2 days, 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
    Sydney, Australia
    • $695.00 incl. GST
    11 March
    Sat 11 Mar 2023 - Sun 12 Mar 2023
    2 days, 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
    Sydney, Australia
    • $695.00 incl. GST
    25 March
    Sat 25 Mar 2023 - Sun 26 Mar 2023
    2 days, 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
    Sydney, Australia
    • $695.00 incl. GST
    8 April
    Sat 08 Apr 2023 - Sun 09 Apr 2023
    2 days, 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
    Sydney, Australia
    • $695.00 incl. GST
    22 April
    Sat 22 Apr 2023 - Sun 23 Apr 2023
    2 days, 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
    Sydney, Australia
    • $695.00 incl. GST
    6 May
    Sat 06 May 2023 - Sun 07 May 2023
    2 days, 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
    Sydney, Australia
    • $695.00 incl. GST
    20 May
    Sat 20 May 2023 - Sun 21 May 2023
    2 days, 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
    Sydney, Australia
    • $695.00 incl. GST

To book a private course Enquire here

Description

Start Yachting is a small group, day sailing course for beginners. It is the first step on the ladder in the world-renowned Royal Yachting Association (RYA) training scheme and forms the first two days of the RYA Competent Crew certification.

Enjoy the sunshine and fresh air as you learn the ropes, sailing around magnificent Sydney Harbour.

Course content 

  • Knowledge of sea terms, parts of the yacht, etc
  • The use of winches and clutches
  • Ropework
  • The points of sailing
  • Upwind and tacking 
  • The five essentials of sailing
  • Downwind and gybing
  • Steering under power and sail
  • Sail handling
  • Crew roles in berthing and un-berthing
  • Safety systems on board.

Professional instruction, fabulous yachts

You will learn in a small group (max 5) in comfort and style on board one of the Flying Fish Beneteau 40-foot sailing yachts.

Our qualified and experienced instructor will guide you and your fellow crew members through the course in a friendly and relaxed manner.

Beautiful sailing conditions 

Flying Fish Sail Academy is based in a spectacular location at Middle Harbour Yacht Club in Sydney. Our boats are moored in a modern walk-on/walk-off marina making access easy for our customers. 

You will learn to sail in beautiful Sydney Harbour where the wind is generally warm and consistent.  

Private course - great value 

Arrange your own group of up to 5 people, and pay for 4 places. 

This is a great thing to do with family or friends. Kids are welcome too.

Enquire using the private course enquiry button at the top of the page

Book ahead to save money

To achieve the RYA Competent Crew certificate you will need to complete two Competent Crew Weekends following this course. 

Or if you are ready for a bit more adventure why not do the whole thing in five days - Competent Crew - 5 days.

If you book 3 or more courses on a single order with Flying Fish you will receive a 10% discount on the order total.

You can schedule your dates at any time subject to availability.

What's included

  • Tuition, logbook, pre-course reading.
  • Life-jackets and safety harnesses are provided and we can loan you wet weather clothing if required.
  • All vessels have an enclosed bathroom on board.
  • Please bring your own lunch and snacks.

Qualifications and experience

  • RYA Start Yachting certificate.

Before you start

  • No experience is needed. This course is designed for newcomers to sailing.
  • We will provide you with some basic pre-course reading when you book the course.

What next?

  • Complete two Competent Crew Weekends for the RYA Competent Crew Certificate 
  • Then go on to Day Skipper Theory and Practical and you will be ready to skipper your own boat.

Testimonials

  • Michael Green 
    • Private Start Yachting Weekend
    • "Our instructor for the Start Yachting Course last weekend, was wonderful. The whole family had an amazing time!"
  • Alison Thursby
    • Start Yachting Weeekend
    • “ Our instructor, Chris was fantastic. I now understand the basics of sailing and have recommended the course to many others. I look forward to doing a competent crew course soon ”
  • Jeanette Kim
    • NSW Boat licence
    • “ The instructor was awesome! Made the lessons clear, fun and very informative. They focus on water safety and everything you need, to enjoy your time out on your boat. What are you waiting for? Get a boat licence and enjoy our beautiful harbour! ”