Competent Crew Weekend

Learn to sail in style on fabulous Sydney Harbour. Join a friendly crew on board one of our fast, comfortable 40 foot training yachts and let us show you the ropes.
full
16 July
Sat 16 Jul 2022 - Sun 17 Jul 2022
2 days, 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
Sydney, Australia
  • $795.00 incl. GST
Event is fullJoin waiting list
24 September
Sat 24 Sep 2022 - Sun 25 Sep 2022
2 days, 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
Sydney, Australia
  • $795.00 incl. GST
Register2 places remaining
1 October
Sat 01 Oct 2022 - Sun 02 Oct 2022
2 days, 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
Sydney, Australia
  • $795.00 incl. GST
Register3 places remaining
8 October
Sat 08 Oct 2022 - Sun 09 Oct 2022
2 days, 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
Sydney, Australia
  • $795.00 incl. GST
Register2 places remaining
    15 October
    Sat 15 Oct 2022 - Sun 16 Oct 2022
    2 days, 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
    Sydney, Australia
    • $795.00 incl. GST
    Register2 places remaining
    22 October
    Sat 22 Oct 2022 - Sun 23 Oct 2022
    2 days, 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
    Sydney, Australia
    • $795.00 incl. GST
    Register3 places remaining
    29 October
    Sat 29 Oct 2022 - Sun 30 Oct 2022
    2 days, 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
    Sydney, Australia
    • $795.00 incl. GST
    Register3 places remaining
    5 November
    Sat 05 Nov 2022 - Sun 06 Nov 2022
    2 days, 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
    Sydney, Australia
    • $795.00 incl. GST
    Register3 places remaining
    12 November
    Sat 12 Nov 2022 - Sun 13 Nov 2022
    2 days, 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
    Sydney, Australia
    • $795.00 incl. GST
    Register2 places remaining
    19 November
    Sat 19 Nov 2022 - Sun 20 Nov 2022
    2 days, 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
    Sydney, Australia
    • $795.00 incl. GST
    Register3 places remaining
    26 November
    Sat 26 Nov 2022 - Sun 27 Nov 2022
    2 days, 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
    Sydney, Australia
    • $795.00 incl. GST
    Register2 places remaining
    3 December
    Sat 03 Dec 2022 - Sun 04 Dec 2022
    2 days, 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
    Sydney, Australia
    • $795.00 incl. GST
    Register1 place remaining
    10 December
    Sat 10 Dec 2022 - Sun 11 Dec 2022
    2 days, 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
    Sydney, Australia
    • $795.00 incl. GST
    Register1 place remaining
    17 December
    Sat 17 Dec 2022 - Sun 18 Dec 2022
    2 days, 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
    Sydney, Australia
    • $795.00 incl. GST
    Register3 places remaining
    7 January
    Sat 07 Jan 2023 - Sun 08 Jan 2023
    2 days, 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
    Sydney, Australia
    • $795.00 incl. GST
    Register3 places remaining
    14 January
    Sat 14 Jan 2023 - Sun 15 Jan 2023
    2 days, 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
    Sydney, Australia
    • $795.00 incl. GST
    Register3 places remaining
    21 January
    Sat 21 Jan 2023 - Sun 22 Jan 2023
    2 days, 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
    Sydney, Australia
    • $795.00 incl. GST
    Register3 places remaining
    28 January
    Sat 28 Jan 2023 - Sun 29 Jan 2023
    2 days, 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
    Sydney, Australia
    • $795.00 incl. GST
    Register3 places remaining
    4 February
    Sat 04 Feb 2023 - Sun 05 Feb 2023
    2 days, 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
    Sydney, Australia
    • $795.00 incl. GST
    Register3 places remaining
    11 February
    Sat 11 Feb 2023 - Sun 12 Feb 2023
    2 days, 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
    Sydney, Australia
    • $795.00 incl. GST
    Register3 places remaining
    18 February
    Sat 18 Feb 2023 - Sun 19 Feb 2023
    2 days, 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
    Sydney, Australia
    • $795.00 incl. GST
    Register3 places remaining
    25 February
    Sat 25 Feb 2023 - Sun 26 Feb 2023
    2 days, 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
    Sydney, Australia
    • $795.00 incl. GST
    Register3 places remaining
    4 March
    Sat 04 Mar 2023 - Sun 05 Mar 2023
    2 days, 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
    Sydney, Australia
    • $795.00 incl. GST
    Register3 places remaining
    11 March
    Sat 11 Mar 2023 - Sun 12 Mar 2023
    2 days, 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
    Sydney, Australia
    • $795.00 incl. GST
    Register3 places remaining
    18 March
    Sat 18 Mar 2023 - Sun 19 Mar 2023
    2 days, 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
    Sydney, Australia
    • $795.00 incl. GST
    Register3 places remaining
    25 March
    Sat 25 Mar 2023 - Sun 26 Mar 2023
    2 days, 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
    Sydney, Australia
    • $795.00 incl. GST
    Register3 places remaining
    1 April
    Sat 01 Apr 2023 - Sun 02 Apr 2023
    2 days, 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
    Sydney, Australia
    • $795.00 incl. GST
    Register3 places remaining
    8 April
    Sat 08 Apr 2023 - Sun 09 Apr 2023
    2 days, 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
    Sydney, Australia
    • $795.00 incl. GST
    Register3 places remaining
    15 April
    Sat 15 Apr 2023 - Sun 16 Apr 2023
    2 days, 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
    Sydney, Australia
    • $795.00 incl. GST
    Register3 places remaining
    22 April
    Sat 22 Apr 2023 - Sun 23 Apr 2023
    2 days, 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
    Sydney, Australia
    • $795.00 incl. GST
    Register3 places remaining
    29 April
    Sat 29 Apr 2023 - Sun 30 Apr 2023
    2 days, 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
    Sydney, Australia
    • $795.00 incl. GST
    Register3 places remaining
    6 May
    Sat 06 May 2023 - Sun 07 May 2023
    2 days, 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
    Sydney, Australia
    • $795.00 incl. GST
    Register3 places remaining
    13 May
    Sat 13 May 2023 - Sun 14 May 2023
    2 days, 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
    Sydney, Australia
    • $795.00 incl. GST
    Register3 places remaining
    20 May
    Sat 20 May 2023 - Sun 21 May 2023
    2 days, 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
    Sydney, Australia
    • $795.00 incl. GST
    Register3 places remaining
    27 May
    Sat 27 May 2023 - Sun 28 May 2023
    2 days, 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
    Sydney, Australia
    • $795.00 incl. GST
    Register3 places remaining

To book a private course Enquire here

Description

An RYA Competent Crew course provides a comprehensive introduction to yachting and leads to an internationally recognised certificate. 

You can complete your Competent Crew course over 3 weekends or 5 days straight. If you are booking weekends you should first book a Start Yachting Weekend and then follow with 2 x Competent Crew Weekends. 

If you add 3 or more courses to a single order with Flying Fish you will receive a 10% discount on the order total. You can book your weekends at any time of your choosing.

If you are not worried about the certification you can also book this as a refresher or stand-alone training adventure. 

Course content

  • Understanding sea terms, and parts of the boat.
  • Sail handling (bend on, set, reef, trim, flake)
  • The use of winches, clutches, and halyards 
  • Ropework (coiling, stowing, use of cleats, knots)
  • Helming and sail trimming on all points
  • Steering to a compass under power and sail. 
  • Crew duties during mooring, berthing, and anchoring. 
  • Personal safety, safety on board
  • Man overboard. and emergency situations
  • Rules of the road
  • Basic meteorology
  • Night sailing

Expert instruction, quality yachts

Our experienced instructor will guide you and your fellow crew members through the course in a friendly and relaxed manner.

You sail on board one of our Beneteau 40.7 cruiser-racer yachts with your fellow students and take part in all aspects of running the boat. 

The group is limited to five students to ensure you get maximum hands-on experience. 

Location and sailing conditions 

We sail from our base at Middle Harbour Yacht Club and explore beautiful Sydney Harbour.

Subject to weather conditions we sometimes head north and overnight in Pittwater. 

Private course - great value 

Arrange your own group of up to 5 people, and pay for 4 places. 

This is a great thing to do with family or friends. Kids are welcome too.

If you are interested in a private course contact us using the enquiry button at the top of the page. 

What's included

Due to Covid 19 restrictions our RYA practical courses are currently non live-aboard. But please contact us if you would like to stay on board in the marina for your course.

  • Tuition, logbook, pre-course reading.
  • Life-jackets and safety harnesses are provided and we can loan you wet weather clothing if required.
  • All vessels have an enclosed bathroom on board.
  • Please bring your own lunch and snacks.
  • We provide tea and coffee and pizza takeaway before the night training exercise. 

Qualifications and experience

  • RYA Competent Crew certificate (once you have completed a Start Yachting Weekend and two Competent Crew Weekends)

Before you start

  • No previous experience is required to book this weekend.
  • If you are new to sailing and want to achieve your RYA Competent Crew certificate you should first book a Start Yachting Weekend 

What next?

  • Once you have completed the Competent Crew course you are ready to start taking control and learning the role of the Day Skipper. 
  • Join Day Skipper Shore-based, for a comprehensive introduction to the underlying theory knowledge you will need as a Day Skipper. 
  • Then go on to the Day Skipper Practical course. 
  • If you don't have time for the full shore-based theory course you could complete Essential Navigation and Seamanship self paced online course, and then go on to Day Skipper Practical
  • Once you have your RYA Day Skipper you are ready to charter your own yacht.